Gold Souk- Gold Lover’s Paradise

Standard

I have been wanting to write this post for a long time but somehow could not get time to do so. 4 years after visiting the world’s notorious Gold Souk, the images of the place are still vivid in my memory.

Unlike anything you have seen in the world, Dubai’s Gold Souk is a market that showcases seemingly endless amounts of gold jewellery. With over 300 jewellers on site to accommodate all your gold related needs, the streets during the day are swarming with visitors from all around the world enjoying the spectacle of wall-to-wall gold, and course, the souk’s phenomenal prices. At first sight you will be tempted to believe that all the items on display could possible not be of gold but they yet indeed are.  Bargaining is the key and you could always get yourself a good deal by bargaining on the making charges. Whether or not you’re ready to buy, a stroll through the dazzling Gold Souk is a must. The stores also offer platinum, diamonds and occasionally silver, and the government keeps tight control over the quality of all the merchandise, so rest assured that your purchases will be genuine. If something in the window catches your fancy, be sure to barter — persistent protest capped with a walkaway will get merchants to drop their asking price by as much as half.

Note that the price of gold fluctuates daily just like the Stock Market, so it is best to look up prices at your hotel just before heading out to the gold souk.

Dubai_Mall_Gold_Souk_2 It's all 22 carat gold. You can also get Western and Indian styles. gold gold-products-in-gold-souk-dubai gold-souk Gold-souq (1)

 

About prynkray

A software engineer by profession and a traveler and foodie by heart. Having traveled ever since childhood it has become a part of me now. So when ever I happen to get a chance I pack my bag and am on the roads. Being blessed with a super tolerant husband who gives into my whim of traveling, we do spend most of our savings on it. Well I do not exactly regret and neither does my husband complain.. Cooking is something I started doing after I left home for job. To be frank I was not such a cook when I started but years down the line I did start enjoying cooking. Picking up recipes from around the world is one of my passion though being a true at heart Bengali, I still love cooking Bengali food.

2 responses »

  1. @prynkray, you have true photography skills man! I guess you have clicked all these pictures yourself. They are really impressive. Loved them. I must confess that you have written way too less in your post which actually dismayed me as I expected more.

Leave a Reply

