Central Market Kuala Lumpur

Standard

Going to KL and not shopping for handicrafts would be a crime in itself. KL Central Market is a shoppers paradise and all tourists visiting KL should pay a homage to this place..

Central Market started off as a humble wet market in the heart of the city centre back in the 1940s. It has evolved a great deal since then and now it stands firm as the landmark which symbolizes all the culture and heritage of our multi-racial country. You will immediately notice that the theme of the market is based solely on the various cultures in Malaysia. The shops here are divided based on the groups of races. Representing each of the races in Malaysia are the Straits Chinese, the Lorong Melayu and Lorong India. The Central Market is full of stalls which sell handicrafts which are all locally made. You can purchase batik, songket, wood carvings, souvenirs, accessories and much more here. If you get tired or hungry in the midst of all the shopping, do not fret. There are myriads of eating places where you can dine at and take a rest.

But be aware the things on display are highly over priced and even a person with strong bargaining power would fail to get a good deal out of these shop keepers.

Here’s glimpse of all that this place has to offer…

 

central-market

KualaLumpur-CentralMarket

KL-CentralMarket_pedmall

K42,43-House-of-Heritage KL118
p1030922

 

mask-stall-at-the-central-market-kuala-lumpur

dsc_0065 DSC_0369

About prynkray

A software engineer by profession and a traveler and foodie by heart. Having traveled ever since childhood it has become a part of me now. So when ever I happen to get a chance I pack my bag and am on the roads. Being blessed with a super tolerant husband who gives into my whim of traveling, we do spend most of our savings on it. Well I do not exactly regret and neither does my husband complain.. Cooking is something I started doing after I left home for job. To be frank I was not such a cook when I started but years down the line I did start enjoying cooking. Picking up recipes from around the world is one of my passion though being a true at heart Bengali, I still love cooking Bengali food.

One response »

Leave a Reply

