King’s Cliff – a residence truely fit for the Kings

Standard

Wondering where to stay in Ooty? Try out this quaint little cottage situated in the fringes of the busy town. King’s Cliff nestled in a hill albeit far away from the madding crowd, literally. The property belongs to the Little earth Group and you could book your rooms from their site.

Image

We had visited to this resort about 2 years back and thanks to my hubby who had suggested this place.

An auto from the bus stand would take you to the hotel. You could ask for a pickup from the resort itself. The auto charges are fixed so you don’t have to trouble yourself for bargaining.

Image

The first thing that greets you is the 400 metre or so long driveway, which reaches into a perfectly maintained garden and trees all around the property. The resort takes you back to an era that is no more, with period furniture, valences and drapes and a polished teak fireplace overlooking a Victorian “drawing room”.

Photos-Kings-Cliff-16416-1-jpg-uploadimagesresorts-400x300-1324321383

There are about 9 rooms, each spacious, and have the old world charm. Each of the room’s has a fire place attached. We were provided with a pile of complimentary wood. You can also request for an extra pile at an additional charge. The bathrooms though could use a little renovation. This property is a very old building so if you one of those persons who look forward to modern hotels with modern bathrooms this hotel might not interest you.

Image

The cottage is surrounded with trees and you would be greeted each morning with the chirping of the birds.

The service is professional and the housekeeping staffs are simple, efficient and friendly. The Earl’s Court restaurant is reputed to be the best restaurant in Ooty, and I think it’s a justified claim. The complementary buffet breakfast, is served in the glasshouse in the lawn and has a wide range of food to offer, ranging from cereals to Indian breakfast.  The food was excellent, tasty and flavorsome, but a bit high priced.

Image

The property is unique and endearing if you are on a romantic pause or looking for some solace. I would certainly suggest people to give it a try if they visit Ooty.

Image

About prynkray

A software engineer by profession and a traveler and foodie by heart. Having traveled ever since childhood it has become a part of me now. So when ever I happen to get a chance I pack my bag and am on the roads. Being blessed with a super tolerant husband who gives into my whim of traveling, we do spend most of our savings on it. Well I do not exactly regret and neither does my husband complain.. Cooking is something I started doing after I left home for job. To be frank I was not such a cook when I started but years down the line I did start enjoying cooking. Picking up recipes from around the world is one of my passion though being a true at heart Bengali, I still love cooking Bengali food.

Leave a Reply

