Ranganthittu Bird Sanctuary

Standard

Bird watching trip it was going to be. I really was not sure what to expect from it. I had not had much time to search the net about the place to get much detail about it. I was just told that it was a bird sanctuary and going by my previous experiences with all kinds of sanctuaries, I did not expect much from the place. In any case since all of the others were excited to go, I too teamed in.

It was decided that we go there on a Saturday so that we could take rest on Sunday before another hectic week started at office. So we started quite early in the Saturday morning.

Ranganthittu Bird Sanctuary is the largest bird sanctuary in the State of Karnataka. It is situated at a distance of 125 Km from Bangalore. It lies on the banks of the Kaveri river and comprises six islets. It is located in the Mandya district of Karnataka.

After taking quite a few breaks on the way we finally reached our destination. I was quite taken aback at the sight of so many different varieties of birds. The entry charges to this place were Rs 50 for Indian Nationals and Rs 50 fir the boating charges.

The islands host numerous mammals and migratory birds. The most common being the Marsh Crocodile also called the Mugger Crocodile. Migratory water birds include Painted Stork, Asian Open bill Stork, Common Spoonbill, Woolly-necked Stork, Black-headed Ibis, White Ibis, Lesser Whistling Duck, Indian Shag, Stork-billed Kingfisher and other common birds like egrets, cormorants, Oriental Darter, and herons. The Great Stone Plover and River Tern also nest here. It is home to a large flock of Streak-throated Swallows.

Image

We hired a ranger guided boat from the main gate itself. These small boats are the best way you to check out the birds and crocks from a close range. It was quite amazing to see so many birds at the same time.

Image

Image

My hubby was having a blast of a time shooting wildlife to his heart’s content. Often he would go missing from the group and we would be left wondering where he had been.

Image

There are a few watch towers that have been set up near the river side for the visitors to watch the birds from the bank itself.

After sending quite some time walking by the river side we were quite hungry, so we moved towards the only restaurant that was available. The food was pretty basic with not much fancy items on the menu. But since we were super hungry all we concentrated on was food and not on what kind of food was available.

After spends a few more hours lazing on the bench by the river side, it was time for us to start our journey back home.

About prynkray

A software engineer by profession and a traveler and foodie by heart. Having traveled ever since childhood it has become a part of me now. So when ever I happen to get a chance I pack my bag and am on the roads. Being blessed with a super tolerant husband who gives into my whim of traveling, we do spend most of our savings on it. Well I do not exactly regret and neither does my husband complain.. Cooking is something I started doing after I left home for job. To be frank I was not such a cook when I started but years down the line I did start enjoying cooking. Picking up recipes from around the world is one of my passion though being a true at heart Bengali, I still love cooking Bengali food.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

